Posted in Life, Musings

Things I Wish I Knew Before I Turned 30

Photo by Cody Black on Unsplash

Last month marked my 30th year of existence in this world. I am so grateful for reaching this far. As I turn a year older, I also hope I am a year wiser. And so here I am collating the truths and lessons that life presented to me so far:

1. My parents are just like everyone else in this world, trying to navigate life the best way they could. I could have shortened the days I resented them.


2. Friends are not for me to keep. They stay of their own accord. I could have stopped chasing some of them profusely.


3. The way I will relate to people and the world will be mostly shaped by how I was raised and what my experiences are in my formative years. I should have taken more time to understand and process my childhood experience better.


4. Iโ€™ll have at least one indelible bully. I could have been more emotionally prepared. 


5. My first crush will introduce me to the indescribable and hard-to-control manipulation of my hormones. I should have savored fully and familiarized myself with the feelings the person brought me.


6. Iโ€™d do things out of societal, parental or peer pressure and Iโ€™d beat myself up for it. But Iโ€™ll realize I will eventually stop or at least care less about what others think. I should have been kinder to myself.


7. Iโ€™d enjoy types of music Iโ€™ll be ashamed of later on in life. But Iโ€™ll realize regardless of how bad they were, theyโ€™re my only ticket to revisiting some olโ€™ good memories. I could have been more appreciative of them.


8. Iโ€™ll have at least one teacher whoโ€™ll inspire me to succeed in life and have a good impact on others. I could have held unto that inspiration tightly as I navigate life.


9. There will be people who will intently or unknowingly erode my self-confidence. I could have been more discerning who to avoid and who to forgive.


10. I donโ€™t have enemies. But there will be people who will feel small or threatened with my presence. There are people who have been hurt too and want to inflict it on anyone theyโ€™ll encounter in life. I could have understood these people better.


11. Life can be so unpredictable and experiences so random that Iโ€™ll end up deciding to drop the could-haves and should-haves along the way and just deal with life the best way I think I could. 


12. Iโ€™ll go about this life being hopelessly romantic. Heartbreaks and heartaches will continuously help me decide if itโ€™s worth it. 


13. Love is nothing but a word. Iโ€™d associate it with all the romantic themes and parts of movies I grow up watching or have watched. At some point in my life, Iโ€™d think Iโ€™ve found it or I will find it. But the truth is, it would only exist for as long as I am associating it with something ( a feeling, gesture etc).


14. Relationships Iโ€™ll commit to or ditch will bring color (harmonious or chaotic) into my arbitrary and innately boring life. 


15. Iโ€™ll have at least one song that I wonโ€™t mind playing on repeat for the whole day.


16. There would be times Iโ€™ll care less, hate or be annoyed with my friends. And itโ€™s totally normal.


17. Iโ€™ll have my turn of getting overly jealous or insecure and do/feel things Iโ€™d never imagine Iโ€™m capable of. Judge others lightly.


18. Once Iโ€™ll lose someone who means a lot to me or is on the verge of experiencing so, Iโ€™ll start to feel my mortality on a visceral level. I won’t be ready for it.


19. I would have episodes of curling up in bed or crying my eyes out because of the existential crisis and horror I will experience and feel. 


20. I will regret not giving the quiet, boring but seemingly kind guy a chance to show interest or ask me out.


21. Because Iโ€™m not living in a cave, Iโ€™ll have the desire to be known and have the riches, influence and/or adoration associated with it. Iโ€™ll show this desire openly, unknowingly or secretlyโ€Šโ€”โ€Šalternately.


22. Iโ€™ll be tempted to think I know better than others or Iโ€™ve figured out life or at least some of its secrets. But no, life can be a bitch to me and Iโ€™ll start seeing people and life with humility again. 


23. My insecurity in life and with people will only be as low as how far Iโ€™ve put people on a pedestal. 


24. Iโ€™ll be so broke that Iโ€™ll promise to know how to manage my time and money better. Iโ€™d be so down and feel like a loser. But if Iโ€™ll learn my lesson here, Iโ€™ll be in a better place eventually. 


25. There would be things Iโ€™d do in life which I could never dare telling my loved ones. 


26. I would end up sharing #25 with total strangers.


27. I would always or perhaps often wish that life would be easier. But when it is so, I would also always or often feel trouble looming around the corner.


28. Iโ€™ll try convincing myself to live in the moment or as I planned but Iโ€™ll realize that life can be as unruly and as messy as I am when I was a kid.


29. People aren’t necessarily more mature the older they get. They just become more assertive and more self-assured.


30. Think with my gut and donโ€™t lose my sense of wonder.


This is me talking to my younger and older self but if you can relateโ€Šโ€”โ€Šthen feel free to drop your thoughts and feelings about turning 30 too. Or better yet share your own 30 truths and lessons in life and Iโ€™d be more than pleased to check how life has been for you. ๐Ÿ™‚

Author:

Writes ramblings of my heart to gain clarity of mind.

Leave a comment